Portfolio update- $100k at 23, what’s next?

Hi everyone, it’s been awhile. Since the last time I updated this page, my portfolio went from $80k to $20k and up to $140k as it stands now. A lot has happened and I’m gonna just summarise my key takeaway into a few points:

  1. No matter how in love you are with a particular counter, ALWAYS TAKE PROFIT. Unrealised profits is not profits yet.
  2. Never leverage trade. Unless you know what you are doing.
  3. Never revenge trade. I learnt this the hard way.
  4. Always be humble.
  5. Learn TA properly, it removes emotion and gives a better picture when to exit even if price falls.

As you know, I’m currently a year 2 University student so to achieve this milestone at this age is something that I am proud of. Especially since I do not have a silver spoon, it makes this achievement all the more sweeter. Although I do know of people that are around my age and doing significantly better but hey who’s comparing right. Moving on I wish to build on my first 100k and hopefully be able to achieve financial independence soon.

With that I set myself some new goals.

  1. My aim is to achieve $150k by the end of the year.
  2. By 25, upon graduation achieve $170k.
  3. By 28 achieve $200k + pay parents back school fees.

Maybe I will update any changes or progress along the way. Cheers and stay safe everyone!

Portfolio update

Published by Model Investor

A 21 yo on his investment journey.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started